The Kids' Power Series Teacher Resource

By Shawntelle Nesbitt

A Kids' Power Book Series

$29.95 Sale Save
This comprehensive teacher's guide is designed to accompany Second Story Press' Kids’ Power Series. Just as the series tells the stories of children who have taken action on issues that are important to them, the guide is designed to help educators and students do the same. This resource provides a step by step guide to help students take action in their own community. It can easily be integrated into everyday junior level classroom programming for language skills, arts,social studies, and character education. It is also appropriate for adaptation in intermediate and senior level classrooms. It uses the four books in the series: Maggie and the Chocolate War, Yeny and the Children for Peace, Lacey and the African Grandmothers, and Shannen and the Dream for a School. The material can be applied to other books and texts that address local, national, or global social justice issues.

Praise & Recognition


Publication Date: September 15, 2011

Genre: Adult Nonfiction

Product Format: Paperback

Pages: 150

ISBN: 978-1-926920-29-0

Key Topics

About the Author

Shawntelle Nesbitt

Shawntelle Nesbitt is a former elementary teacher who designs educational programs that address issues of identity, community, human rights, and social justice. Her materials have been integrated into schools in Canada and the United States.
Learn More